Aura Noir

‘Dreams Like Deserts’ was a fresh revelation upon release, launching the band amid the fever of the second wave of black metal sweeping the globe at the time. The result was a ferocious assault of dirty blackened thrash, immediately gaining Aura Noir cult acclaim in the process. Includes extra tracks.


Aura Noir
Dreams Like Deserts VINYL



Aura Noir was formed in 1993 by Aggressor (Carl-Michael Eide) and Apollyon (Ole Jørgen Moe). Inspired by classic 80's acts such as Venom, Slayer & Kreator, they sent out a couple of demos before releasing the underground EP ‘Dreams Like Deserts’ in 1995. In 1996, they were joined by Mayhem guitarist Blasphemer (Rune Eriksen), who contributed to the release of ‘Black Thrash Attack’, their first full-length CD. This was then followed by the ‘Deep Tracts of Hell’ album.

In 2004, they were the first band to be signed to Tyrant Syndicate Productions, a sub-label of Peaceville Records, run by Nocturno Culto and Fenriz (both of Darkthrone). They released their next album ‘The Merciless’, which featured Nattefrost of Carpathian Forest and Fenriz on guest vocals.

The band was put on hold after Aggressor was in a severe accident in late March, 2005. Despite this setback, the band continued to record new material, which resulted in a new full-length album, ‘Hades Rise’, being released on August 25, 2008. In the interim, the rest of the band had played several live gigs with a replacement drummer. However, by 2011 Aggressor has rejoined the band for live shows once again, after being out of the live line-up for several years.



  • AuraNoir web
  • Aura Noir 01
  • assets/
  • AuraNoir Blasphemer1A s
  • AuraNoir ApollyonA s
  • AuraNoir ApollyonB s
  • Aura Noir 02

Band Members

  • Aggressor
  • Apollyon
  • Blasphemer

Live Dates

October 2015

  • 01/10, Scandic Lerkendal - Trondheim, Norway

February 2016

  • 04/02, Independence of the Seas - Fort Lauderdale, FL, US

Latest News


Aura Noir - 'Dreams Like Deserts' coming to CD & vinyl in November

Aura Noir's hard-to-find 1994 debut studio recordings of dirty blackened thrash are coming to CD & vinyl on November 12th with new artwork & extra tracks. Pre-order HERE. ...


Aura Noir - 'The Merciless' & 'Hades Rise' on vinyl

2 classics of supreme Norwegian blackened thrash are coming to (heavyweight) vinyl on September 3rd. The Merciless contains the bonus track 'Sulphur Void' & can be pre-ordered HERE, & Hades Ri ...


Aura Noir - 'Deep Tracts of Hell' coming 20th February on CD & vinyl

Aura Noir's classic & hard-to-find second album of ugly blackened thrash will be unleashed on CD & limited vinyl, including extra tracks, on February 20th. Click HERE to pre-order. ...


Aura Noir - Black Thrash Attack coming in October on vinyl & CD

As the band is set to invade Europe this month, Aura Noir’s cult debut album ‘Black Thrash Attack’ is to be released by Peaceville Records this October on vinyl PRE-ORDER HERE & CD PRE-ORDE ...